21 May

“I tried to communicate, I tried to relate. Now all I want to do is escape and vanish into fantasies. I ventured out of the galaxy into the outer regions where folks believe in something much much bigger than their demons and aren’t controlled by their circumstances. Sounds romantic? Well, dance with it slowly. In here my failures don’t control me. It’s a place of solitude but I’m not lonely. And it’s beautiful but lets be reasonable it’s just not real. It just plays with your imagination and for a moment or two can make time stand still. But when it’s over all you have is a memory. I had to leave ‘cause the real world was calling me. I left my youth in pursuit of the truth and gained a world of dishonesty.”

—John Reuben, “The Boy vs the Cynic”

Leave a Reply

